Frequently Asked Questions
-
Where can you advertise with PPC?
With Pay Per Click, you can advertise on major search engines such as Google, Quora, YouTube, and Bing, as well as on social media platforms, like Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter. Additionally, you can advertise on search partner networks, meaning that your ads will be shown on websites such as Amazon. The paid advertisements appear in search engines and on social media platforms similarly to organic results, however, the appearance in search results is paid for rather than earned organically.
-
How can PPC help your business?
PPC advertising can help your business in several ways. Here are 3:
1.Increase sales or leads – PPC can help to inject traffic to your website. If you’re running a high quality, well-targeted PPC campaign and have a website that resonates with your target market; then this should increase sales and leads.
2.Improve brand awareness – When your ad listing appears on Google’s search results or the Google Display Network, then people see your brand name. This is improving the awareness of your brand name and possibly improving your brand image.
3.PPC gives you data to improve your business – For example, you would get data on which products or services perform well and which ones don’t. You can then use this information to improve your website pages or your product offering. Another example is learning which ad copy messaging resonates the best with your target market and then working this messaging into your website.
-
Do PPC ads work?
Yes. If done correctly, and by a PPC expert, then PPC can work and be highly profitable. This is because you only pay when your PPC ad is clicked, which means your ad is already partly qualified. However, if managed poorly, PPC can also result in wasting a huge amount of money with little to no returns.
-
What is the best pay per click site?
Ten well known PPC advertising platforms are Google Ads, Facebook Ads, Microsoft Advertising, LinkedIn Ads, Twitter Ads, Quora Ads, Reddit Ads, Snapchat Ads, Adroll and Bidvertiser
-
Why are my clicks higher than impressions?
One ad impression may receive more than one click from the user; however, Google limits the maximum click count recorded on your account for one impression to two.
-
How much does PPC cost?
PPC advertising costs vary greatly on your niche and the type of keywords that you choose to bid on. This is because some niches and keywords are more competitive than others. Small businesses can start utilising PPC marketing for as little as a few pounds a day, and larger businesses can spend thousands of pounds a day. A good starting point is to put together a budget that you’re comfortable with, and then scale up if your campaign is profitable.
-
How many types of PPC are there?
There are several types of PPC ads. Here are seven of them:
1.Search ads – Text ads that mainly appear on search engines when the user searches for a keyword that the advertiser wants to target.
2.Display ads – image or text ads that appear in a banner ad like format while the user is browsing various websites.
3.Remarketing Ads – image or text ads that are shown to users who have previously interacted with your website or business in some way.
4.Video Ads – Video ads are increasingly becoming more popular. YouTube is a popular platform to run video ads on.
5.Shopping Ads – Shopping ads have a picture of the product being advertised, the price and title of the product. They often appear on search engines.
6.Social ads – social media platforms have their own forms of paid advertising. The most common ones are Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter, Quora, Snapchat and Reddit.
7.Gmail Sponsored Ads – These are ads that appear on Gmail. When the ad is clicked, it expands to give more information, and this is when the advertiser is charged. If the user clicks on the ad again, they are directed to the advertiser’s landing page.
-
What is the difference between the final URL and the destination URL?
Final URLs have replaced destination URLs. It is no longer possible to create an ad with a destination URL.
-
What is the GDPR policy when targeting users outside of the EEA?
If you have a data protection officer or an EU representative, provide their contact details in the “data protection contacts” section.
-
What is the difference between general and mature audience?
General audiences means all users, and a mature audience is a subcategory of users that have reached the applicable legal age threshold.
-
How to exclude users based on browser and OS?
Targeting users based on their mobile device’s OS, model or network provider is possible for display and video campaigns. Currently, browser targeting is not available for computers.
-
Can you show or hide an ad from a specific IP address?
No, Google Ads does not enable you to target specific IP addresses. However, you can prevent individual IP addresses from seeing your ads.
-
What Google Ads Certifications can I get?
There are several Google Ads certifications available:
– Google Ads Search Certification
– Google Ads Display Certification
– Google Ads Video Certification
– Shopping Ads Certification
– Google Ads Measurement Certification
– Google Ads Fundamentals Certification
-
Is it possible to verify a Google Ads certification?
Currently, it is not possible to view or verify completed certifications for Google Ads accounts that are not yours.
-
How do I get Google Ads certified?
To achieve one of the Google Ads certificates, you must join the Google Skillshop, prepare for the Google Ads Fundamentals exam, as well as pass one of the additional exams. If successful, you will obtain the Google Ads Certification. To read our top tips for passing the Google Ads Fundamentals test, visit our blog post.
-
Is Google Ads Free?
It’s free to open a Google Ads account and to create a campaign. However, it does cost to advertise on Google Ads. Google Ads fees work off a pay per click basis. This means you only pay when a potential customer clicks on your ad.
-
How much is a Google ad?
The cost of a Google Ad depends on a few factors. Firstly, you only pay Google Ads when an advertiser clicks on your ad. If no one clicks on your ad, then you don’t get charged.
The amount that you are charged for a click depends on your maximum bid and your Quality Score. Both of these factors are used to calculate your Ad Rank. This determines where you will appear on a page and how much you will pay for a click. Your keyword’s Quality Score is how good Google thinks your ad is.
-
How do I turn off Google ads?
To turn off Google Ads, you will need to pause all of your currently live campaigns. To do this, select all of your live campaigns by ticking the checkbox to the left of them. On the blue bar that appears, click on ‘Edit’ and then on ‘Pause’. This will pause the campaign that you have selected.
-
Does Google ads work?
Google Ads is a profitable marketing channel for many advertisers. However, it is important that a PPC professional is consulted before spending any money on Google Ads. It is very easy to spend a large amount of money and get very little return. Here are three objections that we get for using Google Ads:
Google Ads is too expensive – It is true that Google Ads click prices have been gradually increasing, which is making it more challenging for PPC advertisers to turn a profit. However, many steps can be taken to bring down your click prices by improving your Quality Scores. It is also essential to look at other areas where performance can be improved. Such as improving the landing pages to increase your conversion rate and also having some form of remarketing strategy to bring people back in the sales funnel.
You get traffic from SEO, so don’t think you should pay for it with PPC – Organic traffic can be highly profitable, but the key is for both PPC and SEO to work together. SEO has many benefits, but often four PPC ads appear above organic traffic. This means that only PPC can allow advertisers to appear on the top of the page. PPC and SEO often complement each other, which means that it is good to utilise both together and not see them and competing channels.
Google Ads traffic converts poorly – Google Ads has so many different targeting options, that means it is not enough just to target the right keywords. You can be so much more granular with your targeting. If you can find the right audience, you can be hugely successful despite the rising click prices.
-
What languages does Google Ads support?
Google Ads supports the following languages:
Arabic, Bengali, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese (simplified and traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Latin American), Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu and Vietnamese.
-
Are Google Ads and PPC the same thing?
PPC (Pay Per Click) and Google Ads are not the same thing. PPC is one form of digital marketing where the advertiser pays only when their ad is clicked. Google Ads is one of the many PPC advertising platforms. Google Ads is the most popular PPC advertising platform.
-
How much does Google PPC cost?
Running Google PPC has a few considerations. The obvious cost is the cost of advertising on Google. You can spend anywhere from a few pounds a day to thousands of pounds a day depending on how much you’re comfortable spending.
If you’re worried about producing a good return and want to ask a PPC agency to manage your Google PPC advertising, then there will be PPC agency’s management costs to consider. This can be between anywhere from £50 to £1000 or more, depending on the experience level of your PPC agency.
Lastly, there may be development costs to add in the conversion tracking code into your website. Also, further website development work may be required to improve the conversion rate of your website and also to improve your Quality Scores which will bring down click prices.
-
Is Google PPC worth it?
Google PPC is only worth it if you do your keyword research and choose keywords that are going to bring a positive return. You also need to make sure that you set the right bids and have a conversion-focused landing page. Google makes creating a PPC account and running a PPC campaign easy but running a successful PPC campaign that is worth your advertising budget requires a PPC expert.
-
Is Google ads and pay per click the same?
No. Google Ads is not Pay Per Click. Google Ads is one of many advertising platforms that use the Pay Per Click model of advertising. Pay Per Click is a type of digital marketing or Search Engine Marketing (SEM) where the advertiser pays only when their advert is clicked.
-
Is Google Ads an SEM?
SEM (Search Engine Marketing) is the process of using paid ads to drive traffic to your site and increase sales or leads. Google Ads is one PPC advertising platform that allows for SEM (Search Engine Marketing) to be carried out.
-
Can you create an ads campaign before submitting billing information?
No, you must provide billing information before being able to set up a campaign. To set up billing on Google Ads; log into your account, click the tool icon and Billing & Payments section. Once you have provided your billing information, reviewed and accepted the Google T&C, you will be able to create an ads campaign.
-
How to switch between Google Ads Express and Google Ads Expert mode?
Log into your Google Ads account with the login details you use for your Express account. Click on ‘Tools’ on the top right and then select ‘Expert Mode’. Once the Expert Mode is switched on, you will have more power to customise your campaigns.
-
What proxy does Google Ads Editor support?
Google Ads Editor supports regular HTTP proxy.
-
How to qualify for an allocated Google Ads Account Manager
Google does not disclose the specific criteria that an account to have an assigned Google account manager. Usually sizeable budget and spend over a prolonged period can be a good guideline; however, it is not a confirmed metric. Therefore, hiring a professional PPC account manager is a way to obtain individual help.
-
Is it possible to record verified calls?
You can record calls by using third-party tools; however, Google does not have an integrated call-recording option. When a user dials the advertiser from a call extension or through a call-only ad, Google might record the call for quality assurance reasons to verify if the advertiser is complying with the T&C. The caller will be notified of the recording of the call at the start of it, however, Google won’t share the recording with the advertiser.
-
How does Google track manually dial calls?
If you manually add a code to your website, it will change the phone number people see if they click on your advertisement. To do this, a Google call forwarding number will be used to track manually dialled calls.
-
Can you use special characters in Google ads?
Google Ads do not allow the use of special characters in the ad’s headline; however, they can be used in description lines. To learn more about Google Ads policies regarding editorial, click here.
-
Why are my ad extensions not showing up?
There is no guarantee that an ad extension will show up in search as Google decides this. What impacts if the ad extension is displayed or not, is your Ad Rank, which can be increased by improving your core quality metrics.
-
How to remove an ad extension?
To delete an ad extension, log into your Google Ads account, select the campaign and head to the Extensions section. On the top-right corner of the table, turn on the “Extensions view”. Now you can select the extension you wish to remove and click “remove”.
-
Can you prevent Google Ads from changing your ad’s wording/format?
Unfortunately, you cannot prevent Google from changing your ad’s copy/format.
-
How to see what browser users used to click your ad on Google?
The browser used when opening your ad can be seen on Google Analytics.
-
What is the difference between the final URL and Path1 and Path 2 text?
The Path 1 and Path 2 text can be selected by the advertiser to improve Click-Through-Rate by inserting relevant keywords. Final URL is the landing page URL the visitor sees when they click your ad and are taken to the landing page.
-
How long does it take for an ad to receive traffic after it’s approved?
Google Ads reporting is not happening in real-time; therefore, you should expect to see first campaign performance results such as impressions or clicks up to 24 hours after it is launched.
-
Can you change the currency of your Google account?
Currently, it is not possible to change the Google Ads account currency. Therefore select this setting carefully.
-
How to check if your Google Ads budget has been depleted?
To see if your Google Ads budget has been used, you can set up an “automated rule”, which will enable you to receive an email notification when your campaign has spent a specific amount of budget.
-
Why is your campaign budget not entirely spent?
There are many reasons why a campaign may not spend its budget. Some of these reasons are a low ad rank or a low click-through rate (CTR). If your ad is not shown often enough due to a low ad rank, the CTR might decrease as well as the budget spend depends on clicks on your ad.
-
How to pause all campaigns based on combined spend?
To pause all campaigns based on their total spend, use automated rules. Set a rule that applies to all your campaigns. Alternatively, this can be achieved by using scripts. Scripts might also be more accurate, as they run hourly, but rules run daily.
-
How effective is PPC?
A form of digital marketing, PPC (Pay Per Click) can be highly profitable if you work with a PPC expert who is up to date on the latest PPC updates and has considerable experience in running effective PPC marketing campaigns. For an effective PPC campaign, it is crucial to understand the business and then use the features available in Google Ads or any other PPC advertising platform to tailor make a PPC campaign that is right for your business.
-
How do you pay per click?
When running a PPC campaign, you choose a maximum bid that you don’t want to bid more than. Google combines your bid with your ad’s Quality Score to give you an ad rank. Quality Score is Google’s metric on how good Google thinks your ads are. Your ads are then put through an auction, and the advertiser with the highest Ad Rank appears on the highest position on Google. The next highest Ad Rank gets the second-highest position and so on.
-
How do PPC ads work?
PPC ads work by combining the advertiser’s maximum bid and other metrics to calculate their Ad Rank. The advertiser with the highest ad rank will appear on the top of Google’s search results. The advertiser will only pay when their ad is clicked, and they won’t pay more than their maximum bid.
-
What does a PPC account manager do?
PPC account managers structure, manage and review the performance of the paid advertising platform accounts such as; Google Ads, Microsoft Advertising, Facebook ads and other paid advertising platforms. PPC managers oversee the paid advertising budget, competitor research, track campaign performance, and optimise client’s accounts for maximum performance and profit increase.
-
How to change campaign goals?
To add, change, or remove a campaign goal in Google Ads or Microsoft Advertising; you must log into your account, navigate to the campaign you wish to apply the changes to and then click on the settings icon. Under “Campaign Goals” you will be able to select or unselect campaign goals and save the new settings.
-
What is PPC management services?
PPC management is where a PPC agency or a PPC freelancer will manage the PPC marketing for a business, sole trader or charity. This can include PPC advertising on Google, Bing, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn, to name a few.
-
How much should I pay for PPC management?
There are numerous PPC agencies and freelance PPC consultants out there who have a range of different fees and pricing models. In the UK, you will typically pay anywhere from £50 to thousands of pounds for PPC management. We would recommend that you don’t choose someone too cheap because there are a lot of PPC freelancers out there who don’t have the skills to run a highly optimised and profitable PPC campaign. We would also recommend vetting a premium-priced PPC agency to get an idea one what extra you would get for your money.
-
Which is better PPC or SEO?
The objective of both PPC (Pay Per Click) and SEO (Search Engine Optimisation) is to increase traffic, mainly using Google’s search engine with the end goal of increasing sales. However, they both have some benefits over the other. Ideally, it is recommended that businesses utilise both SEO and PPC marketing. However, if you don’t have the budget for this, then here are eight things to consider when deciding on whether to use SEO or PPC marketing:
1.Optimisation time – PPC can start giving you traffic immediately whereas SEO could take months of optimisation work before you start getting traffic
2.Organic listings are trusted more – Often people ignore PPC listings and scroll down till they see organic listings
3.Only PPC can truly get you on position one – Up to four PPC listings can appear above SEO listings. If appearing on the absolute top of the page on Google is important to you, then you can only get this with PPC advertising.
4.PPC listings will stop as soon as you stop investing in them – PPC listings stop as soon as you stop putting money into Google Ads and all of the hard work that you have done optimising your campaigns will stop benefiting you. With SEO however, if you stop investing in SEO, all the hard work that you have done optimising your SEO will remain, and you should continue to get traffic.
5.You have more power to choose your traffic with PPC – With SEO, you can try to influence Google to rank your website for searches that you want to target. However, with PPC, you can choose the exact keywords that you want to rank for. You can also further tailor the traffic that you target by selecting the age group, gender, location and device, to name a few things.
6.Organic listings can help more with branding and upper-funnel – It may not be financially viable to use PPC to bid on very upper funnel or research-based keywords. However, you can do this with SEO. You can do this with SEO. You can write blog posts and informational pages to educate users when they are very early on in the sales funnel. This improves our brand’s image for when the customer is lower down the sales funnel and more ready to make a purchase.
7.PPC has better A/B testing capabilities – PPC allows for split tests to be created testing ad copy messaging and landing pages. You can use this data to learn what resonates well with your target market and improve your website.
8.Local businesses can benefit from Google’s map pack – Local businesses can use SEO to allow their business’s name, address, phone number and other details to appear on relevant local searches.
-
Does PPC help organic rankings?
PPC does not influence organic rankings. However, PPC may indirectly increase organic traffic. This is because if a user finds your business using a PPC ad, then they may be more willing to click if they are searching again and see your brand name appear in an organic ad. Similarly, SEO may indirectly increase PPC traffic in the same way.
-
How do I find a good PPC agency in Leeds?
There are several ways to find a good PPC agency in Leeds. Here are our top four suggestions. For more information, read our blog on how to find a PPC agency.
1.Search on Google– search for local PPC agencies on a search engine like Google. Some things that you could search for are PPC agency Leeds, Local PPC agency, PPC company Leeds, PPC management Leeds, Google Ads agency Leeds, Local Google Ads agency, Google Ads company Leeds and Google Ads management Leeds
2.Attend digital marketing events – often PPC agencies will attend and do talks on digital marketing events. If you attend these events, not only will you learn more about PPC marketing, but you will also be able to get a feel of the staff at some of the PPC agencies and also get an idea on their level of expertise
3.Podcasts – PPC agencies will often try to promote themselves by speaking at podcasts. Listen to podcasts to get an idea on the level of expertise of a local PPC agency
4.Word of mouth – If you’re looking for a local PPC agency in Leeds, then word of mouth referrals is still a very powerful means of finding a PPC agency. PPC agencies that produce excellent results get talked about and eventually, people start becoming a lot more aware of them.
-
What are the benefits of PPC?
There are several benefits to PPC. Here are ten from the many benefits:
1.PPC Increases traffic to your site
2.PPC can increase your sales or leads if done properly
3.Start showing ads immediately, as opposed to SEO where it could take months to start getting traffic
4.You have so much power to choose who sees your ad by targeting keywords, age groups, gender and location to name a few
5.You only pay when your ad is getting a click
6.PPC allows you to optimise your PPC campaigns to increase profits by tweaking your campaigns
7.There are numerous PPC agencies out there that can help to improve your profits
8.A basic PPC campaign is quick and easy to set up
9.A PPC Remarketing campaign can improve brand awareness
10.You can use PPC data to improve your website and business offering
-
What does PPC mean?
Pay Per Click or PPC is a type of search engine and social media platform advertising, in which advertisers pay a set amount for every click a user makes on the ad. PPC can serve to increase brand awareness, traffic to the website, as well as conversions and bring a return on the investment.
-
What success metrics/goals can you have in PPC?
The key performance indicators in PPC are primarily, click-through rate and conversion rate. Additionally, you can measure the success of your PPC campaigns and advertisements by measuring the quality score, cost per click, cost per conversion, and the return on ad spend.
-
Where do PPC ads appear on Google? Why are my ads not at the top of the search result page?
PPC advertisements appear either above all organic search results or below them. Google’s algorithm can display anywhere from zero to four paid search advertisements above the organic listings. It can also choose to show shopping ads in the form of an image carousel.
-
Can you reactivate a removed campaign?
If a campaign has expired, locate the specific campaign in your Google Ads account and on the left menu, click on settings. Open the “Start and end dates” section, expand “End date” drop-down to select a new date and save the new settings.
-
What are negative keywords?
Negative keywords are search terms that the advertiser does not wish their advertisement to be triggered for. You can create a list of negative keywords to exclude them from triggering your ad.
-
How to download your keyword list?
To download your keyword or negative keyword lists, head to the search keyword or negative keyword pages and click “download” in your desired format.
-
What is pay per click marketing?
Pay Per Click, or PPC is a form of digital marketing where the marketer puts out an ad, and they only pay when their ad gets clicked. The most popular PPC advertising platform is Google Ads.
-
What is a PPC agency?
PPC marketing can be hugely profitable if done correctly. However, it is also very easy to waste a lot of money on PPC advertising and not get a lot of returns. A PPC agency will manage for your PPC budget and by working with you to create and optimise your PPC campaigns.
-
How can you track conversions?
To track conversions generated from PPC advertising, you can use the Google Ads conversion tracking tool, which is free and logs whether a visitor purchased a product after interacting with your advertisement. This option requires some free code generated by Google Ads to be added to your website. The code can be generated by going into the ‘Conversions’ menu within ‘Tools & Settings’. A conversion can mean different things, depending on what your goal is; for example, a newsletter subscription, a purchase, download of an app, or a phone call to your business.
-
What should I look for when choosing a PPC agency?
There are many things to consider when considering a PPC agency. Here are just eight things to consider:
1. Location – Look for a PPC agency that is local to you
2.Qualifications – Are their staff Google Ads and Google Analytics certified and is the PPC agency a Google Partner?
3.Ask to see their previous case studies – A good PPC agency will have case studies showcasing their previous positive work
4.Ask for a free PPC audit – A good agency will take the time to get to know your business and put together a PPC plan on how they would help to grow your profits if you signed up with them
5.Speak to whoever will be managing your PPC account – You’re going to be working with the person managing your PPC account so make sure you will be able to work well with them.
6.Look at their reporting capabilities – Some agencies will manually produce reports which are time-consuming and will eat up the amount of time they can spend on managing your PPC account. Look for an agency that uses APIs to generate high quality and customised PPC report.
7.Consider their pricing structure – PPC agencies have a variety of pricing models. Some invoice on the number of management days, while others charge a percentage of the ad spend.
-
What is the difference between CPC and PPC?
PPC (Pay Per Click) is the name given to a form of digital advertising where the advertiser pays only when their ad is clicked.
CPC (Cost per Click) is the average amount that you paid for clicks on your campaign. It is calculated by doing cost/clicks. So, for example, if you spend £100 and obtained 500 clicks, then your CPC would be £100 / 500 = £0.20.
-
How do you manage PPC?
Managing a profitable PPC campaign is highly complicated and requires a certain amount of expertise. However, here are our top ten ‘must-do’ tips for new PPC advertisers:
1.Understand the business goals and objective
2.Do your keyword research
3.Plan out your campaign structure before creating it
4.Use calculated bids
5.Optimise your landing pages for success
6.Conversion track all key goals
7.Review the search query report regularly
8.Run ad copy testing
9.Get granular with your targeting
10.Review your campaign performance and optimise regularly
-
Why is PPC important in business?
PPC (Pay Per Click) advertising can be important for businesses because it allows them to get immediate traffic for whatever keywords they choose. This means if you need to advertise something that is very time-critical, you can do this with PPC advertising.
PPC also produces a lot of data on how well your website performs with your target market. You get information like your conversion rate, bounce rate, time on site and also clickthrough rate of ad copy to name a few things. All this information can be used to improve your website and business offering further.
-
What are Search partners?
Search partners are a network of different websites and companies that have partnered up with Google and display ads. Enabling Search Partners network is a useful feature to reach a broader audience across multiple channels. There are three networks available on Google Ads: the search network, search partners network and the display network. The search network is the default option on the paid search advertising. On top of the search network, advertisers can choose also to show their ads on the search partners network and/or the display network.
-
How to exclude Search Partners from all the campaigns, without opening every single campaign?
Follow the Google instructions to upload the updated spreadsheet in an Excel or CSV format using the bulk upload option and complete the task. This will enable you to save time and make changes to multiple campaigns at once. Alternatively, if you have the Google Ads editor, you can easily select all your campaigns and switch off search partners via the campaign menu settings.
-
How do you retrieve deleted ads?
Deleted ads cannot be retrieved entirely; however, they are visible in past statistics. If you wish to replicate the ad, go to “ads & extensions” tab and from “all but deleted ads” select “all ads” option. You can copy-paste the ad copy to create a new ad.
-
Can you start creating an ad and finish it later?
At the moment, it is not possible to save a draft version of an ad.
-
How much does PPC cost in the UK?
In the UK, PPC can cost can vary a lot, and there is a budget for almost all advertisers. Click prices can vary from as little as £0.05 to over £100! Work out how much you can afford to pay rather than what the average click prices are. Work out your conversion rate and how much you can afford to pay for a conversion. For example, if your conversion rate is 2% and your cost per conversion can be no more than £25, then you know you can bid no more than £25 * 10% = £0.50.
-
How is the click price determined?
The cost per click is determined based on multiple factors, such as your maximum bid amount, Quality score and the amount that your competitors are bidding.
-
What is Quality Score?
The Quality Score is a rating that is given to a paid ad to determine the ranking of the ad. Quality Score is calculated by the Google Algorithm evaluating the relevance of the ad’s copy and URL to the search term, as well as by assessing the user experience of the landing page. Read our blog on PPC Quality Scores to learn more.
-
What is Ad Rank?
Ad Rank determines the position of your PPC advertisement on the search engine results page. An advertiser with a higher Ad Rank will have their PPC advert appear higher than a competitor’s PPC advert. Your Ad Rank is calculated by looking at your maximum bid as well as other factors such as the ad quality, relevance and the landing page experience.
-
What to do if a competitor is using your company name in their ads?
A competitor using your brand name in their ads could be both inline and against Google’s trademark policies. To view more information on trademark infringement, click here.
-
Should I bid on competitor’s brand names?
It is a common PPC practice to bid on competitor’s brand names, as it can increase your brand’s awareness, as well as providing a less competitive opportunity to get your ad displayed. On the negative side, the click-through rate may be lower than for non-brand keywords.
-
What is a PPC campaign?
A PPC campaign is a way to structure your advertisements in relevant ad groups based on the keywords that are being targeted. A PPC campaign consists of: ad groups, keywords, ad copy, landing pages associated with the ads and your daily/monthly budget.
-
Is Bing owned by Google?
No, Google does not own Bing. Google is owned by the Alphabet group and Bing is owned by Microsoft.
-
What is Amazon PPC ACOS?
ACOS (Advertising Cost of Sale) is one of the metrics used to calculate how profitable your Amazon Advertising campaigns are. It is the ratio of advertising cost versus the revenue generated and is calculated by doing cost/revenue. So, for example, if you spend £20 and generate £100 in revenue, then your ACOS would be 0.2 (£20 / £100).
-
How much does Amazon pay per click cost?
Amazon PPC (Pay Per Click) advertising click costs can vary greatly depending on the niche that you’re in and the competitiveness of the keywords that you choose to bid on. To calculate how much to bid on Amazon Advertising, start with a 10% conversion rate and look at your average order value for each product type and the Return on Ad Spend that you require. So, if your Average Order Value for your jeans is £50, and you need a Return on Ad Spend of 6, then you can bid no more than £0.83 – (£50 * 10%) / 6 = £0.83.
-
How long does it take for Amazon PPC to work?
Just like with other PPC advertising, Amazon Advertising may require time to optimise and improve the campaigns as performance data starts to come in. How long this process takes depends on your business and how well you’re optimising your Amazon PPC campaigns. A good PPC agency will be able to optimise your Amazon PPC campaigns a lot faster. This process can take anywhere from one week to 1 month.
-
How does PPC work on Amazon?
Known as Amazon Advertising, doing PPC on Amazon is increasingly becoming more popular. PPC works on Amazon by choosing you targeting criteria, a bid, a maximum budget and finally choosing the ads copy or product that you want to show when Amazon matches a user to your targeting criteria. Products that sell more often get preferential treatment from Amazon and enjoy lower click prices. Like other PPC advertising platforms, you only pay when an advertiser clicks on your ad.
-
Is Google better than Bing?
Google has around 92% of the search market share whereas Bing only has nearly 5% of the search market share. This means that you’re going to get a lot more traffic from Google Ads. However, we do tend to see cheaper click prices on Bing Ads and we can also arrange for new advertisers to get some free advertising spend for Bing Ads. We, therefore, recommend that advertisers explore Google Ads advertising and then look at opportunities within the Bing Ads network after their Google advertising is in a good place.